Within the the boundaries of the City of Manchester

Arial Photograph of the City of Manchester
The City of Manchester viewed from the south.

The Growth of the City of Manchester

The present day City of Manchester comprises some 30 districts or township suburbs, which are, alphabetically:

Ancoats Collyhurst Moss
Ardwick Crumpsall Moston
Beswick Didsbury Newton
Blackley Fallowfield Northenden
Bradford Gorton Openshaw
Burnage Harpurhey Rusholme
Cheetham Hulme Victoria
Chorlton-cum-Hardy Levenshulme Whalley
on Medlock
Longsight Withington
& Ladybarn
Clayton Miles

Districts in 1838

In 1838 the original
City of Manchester included only the most central districts of Cheetham,
Beswick, Ardwick, Hulme and Chorlton-on-Medlock. Other districts were
incorporated at various dates over the following century, though not
all original district placenames were to survive annexation.

Districts in 1938

By 1938, the following
district townships had been added :

  • 1885:
    Bradford, Harpurhey and Rusholme.
  • 1890: Crumpsall, Blackley & Moston, Newton Heath, Clayton, West
    Gorton, Openshaw and Kirkmanshulme.
  • 1903: Heaton Park.
  • 1904:
    Moss Side, Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Withington, Burnage and Didsbury.
  • 1909:
    Gorton and Levenshulme.
  • 1913:
    Heaton Norris.
  • 1931:

Note that Heaton Norris was actually lost to Manchester when it was incorporated into the Metropolitan Borough of Stockport in 1973. The district of Kirkmanshulme was subsumed into other neighbouring districts.

Around the M60 – Manchester’s Orbital Motorway

By Matthew Hyde,
Peter Portland & Aidan O’Rourke
ISBN 18977 62305, over 100 Illustrations, Two new Maps of Manchester
and the M60.

"Around the M60 - Manchester's Orbital Motorway"

AMCD has just launched a new guide to the M60 Motorway by Photographer
Aidan O’Rourke (Eyewitness in Manchester) Matthew Hyde (Architectural
Historian at the Manchester Museum) and Peter Portland (local historian
also at the MAnchester Museum with the Alderley Edge website project
). .

See also: